With its exhibition, this museum combines the history of the town and the church with art-historical accents, as well as the monastery history of the Sauerland. The actual treasury of the town museum shows liturgical vestments from the 17th/18th century with the "Golden and Red Chapel" as completely preserved pontifical regalia of the Grafschaft abbots and a wealth of precious chalices, ciboria and monstrances from the 15th to 18th centuries. The abbot's chalice from 1509 is considered a unique work of art of its kind in the Sauerland.
The tower of the provost church of St. Pankratius with its characteristic baroque dome greets you from afar. The current nave (the church was first mentioned in 1087) was built as a Baroque hall in 1749/1750 and is a shining example of Baroque diversity and design. The two-storey high altar with its interchangeable paintings and the two side altars form the highlight of the precious interior.
The magnificent interior of the church also deserves special attention with the so-called "Odacker Madonna" and the "Plague Cross", both dating from the early 14th century. An elaborately curved communion bench in fine inlay work was created in 1754 and shows Old Testament and Eucharistic motifs.
Outside of the opening times listed below, further visits and guided tours of the museum and church are also possible, especially for groups, but only by prior arrangement.
The contact person is Mr. Joseph Friederizi (Tel. 02902/71132, e-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org)